White Bean and Chicken Chili for Whimps

A pot of this chili and some disposable cups/bowls and spoons and you’re ready for a drop by weekend visit with friends with little to no mess!

OK I got the “Guilties” for not contributing to my Culinary Capers group for a while. So today I got busy in the kitchen and made “White Bean and Chicken Chili”. This chili has just enough heat to satisfy any chili lover but is mild enough for any whimp like me to handle.

As usual it was a “no recipe and off the cuff” kind of thing. Here’s the closest I can come to amounts used for the ingredients. This chili is considered mild weather on the heat index but man o man I could eat the whole pot!

I started by filleting 4 chicken breasts. Salted them with Kosher salt and seared them in olive oil using my big cast iron dutch oven (mine is 7 quarts but 5 would work). Make sure they get nice and brown, they don’t have to cook completely through, so high heat, fast browning and remove to a plate. WHen they cool slightly chop up into bite size pieces.

Next I deglazed the very brown pot with chicken broth and used a wooden spoon to remove the bits. This turns the broth brown and gives it great flavor. Once deglazed and all sides and bottom of the pot are clean of brown bits, I added the rest of the broth. In total I used 1 quart of chicken broth.

I added 1, 16 ounce jar of (Pace brand unless you like another more) Salsa Verde and two to three tablespoons (add two, taste, then decide) of Peruvian Chili Lime seasoning from Savory Spice Shop (THE BEST). This blend contains cumin, salt, mild chili powder, annatto, turmeric, aji amarillo chiles, Kaffir lime leaves, Mexican oregano and cilantro. Here is the link below in case you want to order but if you have most of these in the spice cabinet, mix it up!

www.savoryspiceshop.com

Next into the pot is 1/2 bag of fire roasted corn from Trader Joe’s and two cans of Northern white beans. Bring to a boil and let it stew for about an hour with the lid on the pot at very low heat.

I minced up some fresh hot banana peppers from my garden, maybe a 1/4 cup to the whole pot and added them in…I know I am a whimp! They even wrote a book about me., look!

This is when I turned off the heat. I didn’t want the fresh peppers to cook, its nice to get a bite of heat. Some sour cream, fresh diced tomato’s and some tortilla chips would be a great garnish.

With a pot of this chili on the stove and some disposable cups, bowls and spoons, you’ll be ready for drop by company on a fall weekend with little to no mess or cleanup!  Enjoy and remember:

“Treat your family like friends and your friends like family”

About fnfkathy

Author of www.fridaynightfamily.com
Aside | This entry was posted in Chili, cooking, Cooking How To, Family, friends, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to White Bean and Chicken Chili for Whimps

  1. this sounds so delicious – I am going to bookmark it

  2. Looks delicious! I am a big wimp in the heat department, so I appreciate your suggestion.

Leave a Reply

