Is it still monkey bread if it has chicken in it?

Since this weekend is Superbowl Sunday, I thought I would post a recipe for the big game that the Buffalo Chicken lovers in the crowd might enjoy.  This is a new spin on an old favorite.

A new twist on an old favorite

When I was first married I attended a party at a neighbor’s house.  One of the treats on the table was monkey bread.  For those of you who have no idea what that is, it’s canned biscuits rolled into one inch balls, coated in cinnamon sugar, dipped in butter and dropped one by one into a bundt pan.  Once baked, the pan is flipped over onto a platter and the bread can then be picked apart by your guests in small bite sized pieces. It can also be drizzled or served with a sugary glaze.

Recently my daughter made a very creative version of this bread that she got from a website.  In the new version a pizza dough was used to wrap pepperoni slices and mozzarella cheese into one inch balls, dipped in garlic butter then dropped into a bundt pan. She served it with a bright marinara sauce. It was awesome.

When I eat something good for the first time I create a challenge for myself to develop my own version of it. And so…this is my twist on an old football favorite.

A few pointers right up front:

One, just because you are incasing the ingredients inside the dough does not mean you need more than that one inch round ball to start.  The more dough you use for each piece, the doughier (is this even a word? I don’t know but it fits!) it gets when baked.  This is o.k. if you are looking for doughy but in this recipe too much dough absorbs the zing from the buffalo sauce and taste of the chicken.

Two, go easy on the butter you are dipping it in.  I think I had a little too much on each piece and when I turned the pan over, they all fell apart. Some would consider this a FAIL but creativity told me to serve them up like they were supposed to be that way and no one know the difference! On another note, I am thinking it could have also been that I turn them out when they were still too hot and the butter had not coagulated yet. Now there’s a word! Sounds healthy huh?

Three, it takes time to wrap all the pieces so if someone offers to help, let ‘em!  Form a production line and get it done.

Start a production line

You can serve this with extra hot sauce or blue cheese dressing to dip it in. I mixed some hot sauce with the dressing and honestly 50% of us liked it.  Next time I would try some hot sauce in sour cream.

Anyway the instructions are below for Buffalo Chicken Pickin’ ( Buffalo Chicken Monkey Bread didn’t sound so appetizing, seriously…“Buffalo’s, Chickens, Monkey’s, oh my!” It just didn’t cut it.) ENJOY!

Super Bowl Sunday Buffalo Chicken Pickin’ 

Ingredients

– 2 large chicken breasts, pounded thin and sautéed in a little olive oil,  butter and seasonings(I used salt and pepper)

– 1 wedge of blue cheese, if you are a blue cheese lover go with Maytag

– 2 packages of pizza dough

– 1 tablespoon of butter

– Hot sauce, I used Frank’s brand

– 2-3 tablespoons butter (for final dip)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Sautee two chicken breast in a tablespoon of olive oil and a tablespoon of butter that are seasoned with salt and pepper until browned and cooked through. Set aside to cool. Meanwhile, set up a work station on the counter.

Sprinkle a little four on the surface so the dough doesn’t stick.

Take 1 tablespoon of butter and melt it down with approximately a tablespoon of hot sauce and set aside. Cut chicken breasts up into one inch pieces and toss them in the butter hot sauce mixture and set aside. Cut blue cheese into small chunks, maybe ¼ inch or so and set aside.

Start ripping off small pieces of dough, approximately 1 inch and flatten into small rounds. Top each round with a piece of chicken dipped in the hot sauce mixture and a small piece of blue cheese. Pull the sides of the dough up and pinch together to form a small ball.  Drop the ball into the hot sauce-butter mixture consisting of 2-3 tablespoons of butter to 1 teaspoon of hot sauce and drop into the bundt pan. Continue until you have used up all your ingredients.

Dip in a little butter hot sauce mixture

Drop into pan

Bake at 425 degrees for 35 minutes, or until it is browned on top. Everyone’s oven varies so keep an eye out and don’t over bake.

35 minutes in a 400 degree oven

Serve with extra hot sauce or blue cheese dressing.  I mixed them and liked it but not everyone did, it’s a matter of personal taste.  Like I said next time I will try sour cream and hot sauce.

About fnfkathy

Author of www.fridaynightfamily.com
This entry was posted in cooking, Family, friends, Games, Super Bowl, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.